Over three times the size of Wollongong’s first lighthouse, today, Flagstaff Hill stands at 40 metres tall with a blazing light that can reach as far as 30 kilometres.
Standing 12.8 metres tall in Belmore Basin is the Wollongong Breakwater Lighthouse, or as it is affectionately known, ‘Old Wollongong Lighthouse’. The year 1837 was pivotal in Wollongong, with the new construction of Wollongong Harbour underway. Twice a week, steamboats travelled to and from Sydney and shortly after, in 1849, the first shipment of coal left Wollongong shores.
The small, bustling harbour became inadequate, leading to the restructuring and extensions of the harbour we now know as Belmore Basin. At this point, the only light that allowed sailors to navigate in and out of the port was a red light at the end of the pier. To replace the red light, in 1866 the Borough Council successfully petitioned the Government for a lighthouse, which finished construction in late 1871.
Designed by Edward Moriarty and built by Joseph Mather, the Breakwater Lighthouse was a feat in Australian 19th century craftsmanship and architecture. Forged with 12-millimetre-thick iron plates on a large concrete base, fears of the lighthouse being unable to withstand heavy seas and gale force winds were misplaced, with the lighthouse remaining a constant fixture in Wollongong for over 150 years.
The Breakwater Lighthouse helped mariners safely navigate Wollongong Harbour until it was decommissioned in 1974. Due to poor maintenance and neglect, the lighthouse fell into disrepair but thankfully was fully restored in 2002 where it still stands today as a Wollongong icon.
Sitting proudly atop Flagstaff Hill with views over the Tasman Sea, is the larger, Wollongong Head Lighthouse. Still active today, Wollongong Head Lighthouse has stood sentry over Wollongong Harbour since its construction in 1936.
To facilitate the export of coal from the Illawarra, Port Kembla Harbour underwent significant development in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Once the breakwaters were completed and the Steelworks began operating, Port Kembla Harbour became the new major port in the area. As a result, a new lighthouse was commissioned by the Commonwealth Government to assist ships in and out of the harbour. Flagstaff Hill was the chosen location for its elevated position and far-reaching views from Wollongong to Port Kembla.
Wollongong Head Lighthouse was the first lighthouse to be built in NSW since 1903 and the first to install automatic flashing lights. The materials and method used in the construction of the lighthouse were ingenious and innovative for the time. Climbing formwork was utilised in order to pour concrete continuously from the ground up. Sitting atop the towering concrete structure was the lantern, created by the Chance Brothers, who also provided the optical apparatus for the earlier Breakwater Lighthouse.
Over three times the size of Wollongong’s first lighthouse, today, Flagstaff Hill stands at 40 metres tall with a blazing light that can reach as far as 30 kilometres. The ingenious use of red and white lights has ensured safe passage for vessels, lighting the way as well as indicating hazards and shallow water since its opening.
In 2000, Wollongong Head Lighthouse was listed as a local heritage building for making history as the first non-manned, fully automatic lighthouse in NSW.
The Wollongong Breakwater Lighthouse and Wollongong Head Lighthouse have played vital roles ensuring the safe navigation of ships from Wollongong to Port Kembla. They are a testament to our rich, local history and proud heritage.